Another summer of interning?

Last summer I spent four weeks in work experience placements. I spent a week in Sales and Marketing at The National Magazine Company, another week as an editorial intern at Grand Designs Magazine, concluding in a fortnight at Food and Travel. I had an amazing time at all of these and gained a real insight into the media industry. Having participated in Inspiration Week, I’ve been seriously considering another summer of interning. However it’s not the journalism industry that I’m interested in this year; this time round I’d love to get a placement that involves social media.

I’ve been doing some research on the net and discovered many (graduate level) positions that rely on the candidate having an excellent knowledge of social media, including blogging. I like to think that I’m pretty knowledgeable when it comes to these areas and previous feedback from placements has shown that my strengths lie in my written and verbal communication. I love to communicate. And when you combine communication and the internet (another of my favourite things) you get social media.

It’s a growing industry, with more and more companies turning to the internet to create a relationship with the consumers. At the moment, there are plenty of brands using social media to their advantage, but I know that many more are yet to jump on the bandwagon. I’d happily take a placement at a company who already have a well-established social media set-up, or somewhere where the process is only just beginning.

If I found the perfect internship, I’d genuinely be willing to spend my whole summer there. If necessary, I could be free from July 1st (though preferably not July as I’ve plans to go travelling) through to mid-September. Although I’d be just as happy with a week placement if that were to be offered.

So if anyone knows of any internships available, please let me know. Of course, I shall be doing my own research into positions as well, but two heads are better than one. I’m not expecting anything that’s paid, it’s the experience and insight that I’m really after. You can find my CV at the top of this page. Thanks.

3 comments so far

  1. David Jamieson on

    Wow, i knew you were bright at primary school but you have definitely good a very good idea of where you want to go and your aspirations are very achievable with your current mindset. I hope you go to Australia it is a wonderful country with even better people.
    🙂
    David

  2. Rhys on

    You can do work experience at the beeb, not sure what kind of things though but worth a look
    https://jobs.bbc.co.uk/fe/tpl_bbc03.asp?newms=info6

    • catherineelaine on

      Thanks Rhys!
      I’ve just looked and applied for a placement titled “Publicity & Marketing in Audio & Music” which looks amazing.
      I know there’ll be hundreds of applicants, but it’s worth a shot!


Leave a Reply

