Networking: The way to advertise yourself in the media industry?

Every week, in my inbox, I receive a newsletter. In fact, I receive many, many newsletters with the majority being deleted before I even open them. However there is one that I always read with great interest. The Handbook Diary started appearing in my inbox every Monday a few months ago. I can’t actually remember signing up for it but I’m glad I did. It lists events that are going on that week. Amongst the odd Premiere and ExCel exhibitions, there are lots of press events that state “Invite Only”. Why these are publicised I don’t know. But they intrigue me. Today’s offering included two events that I would love to attend: the first being the launch of Dare2, a new high end magazine focussing on being luxurious and ‘good’ to the environment, with the second being the Sticky & Sweet Masterclass at Freggo (part of the Gaucho empire). The former sounds intriguing because it’s a new magazine launching in a time when print media is supposedly a struggling industry and yet Dare2 appears to be promoting their niche angle as being ‘green’. And as for the latter… Food journalism has always been the dream. I’ve left it alone for a while to pursue the more accessible music journalism, but, long before my Food & Travel internship, I knew that food writing was most definitely a career that I’d love to learn more about.

How does one go about getting invited to these ‘Invite Only’ events? I don’t know. But I’d hazard a guess that, as with most aspects of the media industry, it’s about who you know. Knowledge of subjects counts for a small percentage of working your way up the media ladder, knowledge of others further up the industry tends to help a lot more. Thinking about it, even I have benefitted from knowing people; my NatMags work experience was solely because my Dad’s childhood friend goes on annual fishing trips with the head of Sales and Marketing there. Additionally, I was kindly sent the press contact details for the Hard Rock Café and within an hour I’d been guestlisted to the Joshua Radin gig. Would this have happened had I emailed the generic front desk address? I can’t say for sure, but I’m guessing not.

I want to work in the media industry. In fact, I’m currently in the process of applying for another 4Talent scheme (Youth Advisory Panel) in the hope that this will help me gain more skills and knowledge (along with contacts) to progress. But will I get there if I stop attempting to network? Who knows, but I’m not going to risk it. Networking is fun and there is a wealth of knowledge out there that I’d love to have the chance to gain just the tiniest bit of.

So, if anyone wants anything reviewing, be it a music release, event or any other product, please let me know. You can always drop me an email (catherine92.may@btinternet.com) and I’ll be happy to respond to any questions that you may have.

I’m making myself available, so you don’t have to go searching.

2 comments so far

  1. Kim on

    Another clear, well-written blog – I’m sure you’ll go far 🙂
    ‘Fraid I can’t really help with anything to review though…

  2. Hallamoda on

    Very informative! I too get bombarded with all these strange emails that I never remember signing up to in the first plce, but some prove usefull.


Leave a Reply

