Anthony Snape – Acoustic Sunday

If you’re one of the few people who’ve actually read my review of Anthony Snape’s debut, you’ll already be aware of my adoration for him. And in particular, for Sunday. As such, I was delighted when Acoustic Sunday was released.

Beginning with the aforementioned track, it immediately makes my stomach feel anxious. The power that these songs have over me is incredible. They evoke emotion from you enveloping you in their narratives. Sunday sings of how quickly time passes by and how the bad times will soon pass.

“Tomorrow you’re older, so today you should smile” he sings as he encourages you to “break from the cycle” that we’ve all become trapped in. Tomorrow isn’t going to cause us any pain. Actually that’s a bit of a lie. Tomorrow is my last day of Sixth Form. It’s also the day of my first A Level exam. Both of these things could turn out to be painful. So maybe Snape has been a little overoptimistic, but we all need that optimism in our lives.

The album is made of three tracks from Disappearing Day and four new ones. Whilst I obviously adore Sunday, that doesn’t mean that Frequency and Little Piece Of Love aren’t amazing in their acoustic glory.

The first new song is Still Not Over You. As Snape holds the long notes, he manages to show deep emotions without even saying a word. His songs carry so much emotion that they can lead you to get so caught up in his emotions that your own feelings go into some sort of overhaul and you’re left questioning everything and anything. If you’re emotionally vulnerable then maybe this isn’t the best thing to listen to. But I guess it’s all about how you listen to it.

Pretty Girl has a title that makes me think of the kind of R&B tracks that top the charts. Fortunately this is nothing like that. Emotionally powerful (have I mentioned how emotional Snape’s music is?!), it makes you wonder who the pretty girl is. And how you wish you were her.  But then you realise you’re not her and how nobody thinks of you as being like her and so you take a few minutes to wallow in self-pity.

Upon exiting the self-pitying stage, you can listen to the stunning Frozen Blues. The piano carries the lyrics along beautifully. It’s a love song full of metaphors (and you know how much I love a good metaphor!) that balances the happy and the sad to produce something perfect for singing along to loudly as you drive, forgetting that your windows are wound down.  And yes, I may be speaking from personal experience here.

I’ve saved my favourite of the newer tracks until last. I once listened to Can’t Stop The Rain on repeat for an hour. It’s incredible. “No matter how the world might change. You still can’t stop the rain”. This is a man whose words speak volumes. He’s optimistically realistic. Or maybe realistically optimistic. Whichever way round, this song is something special.

In fact, this album is something special. It’s oozing with emotion in it’s rawest form. If I had a hundredth of the songwriting talents Snape has I would think of myself as incredibly fortunate.

www.anthonysnape.com

1 comment so far

  1. […] time reader of my blog. He is the artist behind two of my favourite albums: Disappearing Day and Acoustic Sunday. He also happens to be a rather lovely guy whose career I’ve been following since the days when […]


Leave a Reply

