Missy Higgins’ new song – If I’m Honest


If I’m honest… I love it already.

7 comments so far

  1. Jenny M. on

    Love love love this song! I actually like it more than “Run So Fast” and the new song from TEDxSydney.

  2. Anthony on

    More great word/music from the fabulous Ms. Missy. Here are the lyrics as best as I can hear them on YouTube, though there are a few variations from version to version.

    Darling, if I’m honest,
    you’ve been on my mind
    On my mind all day.
    And lately, if I’m honest
    I can’t bring my self
    To think no other way

    I’ve been doing all kinds of reckless things
    To forget your face.
    Like going out on the town
    Spreading around all that love I kept for you

    But no one touches me like you used to
    It’s a shame but true
    Nobody loves me the way that you used to

    And darling I’ve been moving
    through seas of faces hoping to meet your stare
    Dancing towards any strangers with your crazy eyes or way with golden hair

    I’ve been trying of all kinds useless ways just to push it all down
    Like spinning around, spinning around till I fall to the ground
    But no one touches me like you used to
    It’s a shame but it’s true
    No body loves me the way that you used to

    So I painted over all the cracks
    But now your paint is pealing back.
    Oh Yeah
    Oh Yeah, Yeah

    It’s a shame but true
    No body loves me the way that you used to

  3. christina on

    i absolutely love this song, and the few other newer songs we’ve had privilege to hear. i’m not sure if i like this better than the tentatively dubbed “i can’t find you,” though. it’s just so heartbreaking to me… specifically this part: “oh, but no one ever held me like you did / like everything depended on it / no one ever kissed me like the sun was on my lips.” i have a feeling her newer album’s going to be a bit different. missy herself has recently said, on more than one occasion, that she’s been inspired by instrumental/piano music, and that she’s been writing a lot of it too. to me, the newer songs are more moving… not necessarily in the exact lyrics she uses (though, undoubtedly, her lyrics will be great nonetheless).. but in the way she expresses what she’s saying, and the feeling her music evokes.

  4. eleanor on

    missy higgins is absolutely amazing. i really want to listen to/read the lyrics of “I can’t find you” but I can’t actually find it anywhere! That one part Christina posted is beautiful and I’d appreciate it if anyone could let me know where I can find it, or even when it will actually be released?

  5. Beth on

    It will be released Jan 2012

  6. Jacquie on

    Missy Higging – I Can’t Find You lyrics

    I’ve been trying to fight this down
    Yeah I’ve been trying to scrape it out
    Cos I know there are demons in your head
    I know there are ghosts beneath your bed
    You just up and left and now the dark is turning red

    I just need to know where you went
    Cause I can’t find you
    I can’t find you
    No, I can’t find you anymore

    I’ve been trying to weigh things out
    Yeah I’ve been trying to shape you up
    Oh but no one ever held me like you did
    Like everything depended on it
    No one ever kissed me like the sun was on my lips
    You were a moon beneath my ribs (?)

    And I can’t find you
    No I can’t find you
    Oh, I can’t find you anymore
    Anymore
    No I can’t find you
    I can’t find you
    Oh, I can’t find you anymore
    Anymore

  7. giuseppelombardo on

    if i’m honest is a really wonderful song… you know it’s very hard to be a fan of Missy from Italy where I live.. i’d never heard “i can’t find you”, where can i find it? Greetings from Ravenna


Leave a Reply

